This site has limited support for your browser. We recommend switching to Edge, Chrome, Safari, or Firefox.

Consider donating to our organization. Every donation, no matter how small, makes a difference.

Contribute to our biannual publication, Mondial!

Walter Dorn elected President


At the 2016 Annual Meeting of the World Federalist Movement – Canada, Prof. Walter Dorn was elected President of the organization. He succeeds Hon. Warren Allmand, who had served as WFMC President since 2004

Dr. Dorn is a scientist by training (Ph.D. Chemistry, Univ. of Toronto), whose doctoral research assisted with chemical weapons sensing for arms control. He participated in the negotiation, ratification and implementation of the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) while working at Parliamentarians for Global (1992–93).

His interests are now broader, covering both international and human security, especially UN peace operations. At the Canadian Forces College he teaches officers of rank Major to Brigadier-General from Canada and over 20 other countries in the areas of arms control, Canadian foreign and defence policy, peace operations and international security. His academic publications are listed here.

One of Canada’s leading experts in UN peace operations, Dorn recently served on the UN’s Expert Panel on Technology and Innovation in UN Peacekeeping. In the Fall 2016 and early 2017 he will spend several weeks on assignment to the UN’s Department of Field Support, helping implement the Expert Panel’s recommendations.

Prior to Dorn’s election, the Montreal AGM viewed a tribute video recognizing Warren Allmand’s contributions to the movement.

Other newly elected members of the WFMC Board include Donna Dasko, Nigel Martin, Sylvain Paquet and Nancy Regehr (Treasurer). Returning officers and directors include Claire Adamson, Warren Allmand (Past-President), Peter Bailey, Nic Baird, Nick Christie, Robin Collins (Secretary), Vivian Davidson, Myron Frankman, Florencia Gor, Karen Hamilton (Executive Committee Chair) Cameron Laing, Blake Macleod, Bill Pearce, Patricia Philip, John Trent (Board Chair) and Fergus Watt (Executive Director).

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

Get Involved

Volunteer, donate, or become a member and join the conversation.

Get Involved


No more products available for purchase

Your cart is currently empty.